Build my website
Prices checked on 1 October 2026

The best website builders for small businesses in the US, with 2026 prices

What a website with your own domain costs on each of eleven builders, which plan you need to sell online or take bookings, and the catches the headline prices leave out.

We make AI Web Maker, one of the eleven builders on this page. It is marked as ours and described with the same facts as the others: its price, what is included and its catches. Every other figure links to the page it came from.

The short answer: which one to choose

Each builder is good at a different job. Start from the job your website has to do.

  • AI Web MakerOurs
    Choose it if you want one yearly price with bookings, a shop, a blog writer, a chatbot and marketing tools included, and a website built for you from a short description of your business.
  • Wix
    Choose it if you want a large choice of templates and built-in features in one editor, and plan to grow into bookings or a shop.
  • Squarespace
    Choose it if design matters most to you and you are happy to pay extra for scheduling and email campaigns.
  • Shopify
    Choose it if selling products is the main job of your website.
  • GoDaddy (Airo)
    Choose it if you want a low yearly price and a site made from a few prompts, and monthly AI credits suit you.
  • Hostinger
    Choose it if the lowest price matters most and you can pay four years upfront.
  • WordPress.com
    Choose it if you want the cheapest plan with your own domain, or a blog comes first.
  • Square Online
    Choose it if you already take payments with Square in person.
  • Durable
    Choose it if you run a service business and want a quick site with bookings and invoices.
  • Webflow
    Choose it if a designer will build your site and look after it.
  • Framer
    Choose it if you want a polished marketing site and do not need to sell online.

What a website with your own domain costs

The cheapest plan on each builder that lets you use your own domain (yourbusiness.com), per month. Year one is twelve months of that plan paid yearly; most builders also give the domain free for that first year.

BuilderCheapest plan with your own domainPer month, billed yearlyPer month, billed monthlyYear oneDomain free in year one
AI Web MakerOurs Hosting $9.92 Priced by the year $119 + domain No, paid separately
Wix Light $17 $24 $204 Yes
Squarespace Basic $19 $25 $228 Yes
Shopify Basic $29 $39 $348 No (about $16 a year)
GoDaddy (Airo) Starter $9.99 $19.99 $119.88 Yes
Hostinger Premium $2.99 (48 months) Not shown $143.52 for 4 years Yes
WordPress.com Personal $4 $9 $48 Yes
Square Online Square Plus No yearly price $49 $588 Not found
Durable Launch $22 $25 $264 Yes (worth up to $20)
Webflow Basic $15 $25 $180 None mentioned
Framer Basic $10 $15 $120 Yes

Selling online, bookings and email marketing

The cheapest plan that lets customers pay or order online, and where bookings and email marketing come from. Card fees and each builder's own fee on sales, where it publishes them, are in its details below.

BuilderCheapest plan for selling onlinePer month, billed yearlyOnline bookingsEmail marketingFree plan
AI Web MakerOurs Hosting (Store Manager) $119 a year Included Outreach emails from your domain No: building and previewing cost nothing
Wix Core $29 Core and up 200 a month free, then from $10 Yes, with Wix ads and no own domain
Squarespace Basic2% fee $19 Add-on from $16 Add-on from about $8 No (14-day trial)
Shopify Basic $29 Apps 10,000 a month free No (3 days, then $1 a month for 3 months)
GoDaddy (Airo) Starter $9.99 Built in (plan not stated) Above Starter Build only: it cannot publish
Hostinger Unlimited $3.99 (48 months) Unlimited and up Unlimited and up No (30-day money back)
WordPress.com Premium4% fee $8 Plugins Business and up Yes, with ads and no own domain
Square Online Square FreeSquare address $0 Plus and up Plus and up Yes, on a Square address
Durable Invoices only No shop found Launch and up Listed, plan not stated Private preview only
Webflow Ecommerce Standard2% fee $29 Other tools Other tools Yes, on a webflow.io address
Framer No built-in shop Not offered Other tools Other tools Yes, on a Framer address

Each builder, plan by plan

Every plan's price, what you get for selling, bookings, a blog and email marketing, the catches, and the pages each figure comes from.

AI Web MakerOurs

Choose it if you want one yearly price with bookings, a shop, a blog writer, a chatbot and marketing tools included, and a website built for you from a short description of your business.

Plans, price a month
PlanBilled yearlyBilled monthly
Hosting, every tool included$119 a year$9.92Priced by the year
AI
Builds your whole website from a short description of your business, in minutes, and you preview it before you pay anything.
Selling
Store Manager takes orders online, included in the hosting. You connect your own payment gateway: AI Web Maker takes no fee on your sales, and your payment provider charges its own card fees.
Running costs
The hosting, and AI credits for AI work when you need it; nothing else. The domain is paid separately.
Bookings
Booking Manager takes bookings online, included in the hosting.
Blog
The AI Blog Writer publishes new articles on a schedule (it uses AI credits).
Marketing
Contacts and leads, AI Marketing Outreach (it finds clients and emails them from your own domain) and the AI Social Media Marketer, all included.
Also included
An AI chatbot that answers visitors day and night, directory listings and email on your own domain.
Domain
Not included: point the domain you own to your new site, or register one when you go live and pay for it separately.

Catches

  • The domain is not included, in the first year or after.
  • Some AI work, like writing articles, uses credits you add when you need them.
  • Newer and smaller than the big names on this page.
Sources, read on 1 October 2026

Our own prices, as on aiwebmaker.co.

Wix

Choose it if you want a large choice of templates and built-in features in one editor, and plan to grow into bookings or a shop.

Plans, price a month
PlanBilled yearlyBilled monthly
Free$0$0
Light$17$24
Core$29$36
Business$39$46
Business Elite$159$172

Monthly prices from Tooltester; Wix shows them only at checkout.

AI
Wix Harmony: the Aria agent makes pages, sections, text and images, next to a drag-and-drop editor. On every plan, Free included.
Selling
From Core. Wix takes no fee on sales; Wix Payments charges 2.9% + 30¢ per online payment.
Bookings
Wix Bookings from Core.
Blog
On every plan.
Email marketing
200 emails a month free, then $10 (500 emails), $24 (5,000) or $49 (1,000,000) a month.
Domain
Free for the first year on yearly plans; Tooltester gives $17.35 a year after that.
Tax
Not stated on the pages we read.

Catches

  • The headline prices need a year paid upfront; paying monthly costs $7 to $13 a month more.
  • Light cannot sell online: Core is the first plan with a shop and bookings.
  • The free plan shows Wix ads and cannot use your own domain.
  • The 14-day refund does not cover domains.
Sources, read on 1 October 2026
  1. Wix blog: how much Wix costs (updated 10 Sep 2026)
  2. Tooltester: Wix prices (11 May 2026)
  3. Style Factory: Wix pricing (11 Aug 2026)
  4. Website Builder Expert: Wix Payments (6 Feb 2026)

Squarespace

Choose it if design matters most to you and you are happy to pay extra for scheduling and email campaigns.

Plans, price a month
PlanBilled yearlyBilled monthly
Basic$19$25
Core$29$39
Plus$49$65
Advanced$99$139
AI
Blueprint AI builds the whole site. AI credits: 10 once on Basic, then 20, 40 or 120 a month on Core, Plus and Advanced.
Selling
Every plan sells. Basic takes 2% of physical product sales (0% from Core); digital products and memberships carry 7%, 5%, 1% or 0% by plan. Card fees: 2.9% + 30¢ on Basic and Core, 2.7% + 30¢ on Plus, 2.5% + 30¢ on Advanced.
Bookings
Squarespace Scheduling is a separate subscription: $16, $27 or $49 a month billed yearly ($20, $34 or $61 monthly).
Blog
On every plan.
Email marketing
Email Campaigns is separate: from about $8 a month billed yearly ($12 monthly) for 500 emails.
Domain
Free for the first year on yearly plans, then the standard rate (Tech.co: about $10 to $20 a year).
Tax
Not stated for the plans.

Catches

  • Prices rose by up to 26% in July 2026 (Core went from $23 to $29 a month).
  • No free plan, and bookings and email campaigns are paid extras.
  • Basic takes 2% of product sales.
Sources, read on 1 October 2026
  1. Squarespace pricing (the builder's own page)
  2. Squarespace Scheduling (the builder's own page)
  3. Squarespace AI website builder (the builder's own page)
  4. PetaPixel: Squarespace raises prices (17 Jul 2026)
  5. Style Factory: Squarespace pricing (24 Sep 2026)
  6. Tech.co: Squarespace pricing (30 Jul 2026)

Shopify

Choose it if selling products is the main job of your website.

Plans, price a month
PlanBilled yearlyBilled monthly
Basic$29$39
Grow$79$105
Advanced$299$399
PlusNot shownFrom $2,300

The $5 Starter plan is closed to new stores.

AI
Builds a store from a prompt; Sidekick writes headlines, product descriptions and posts. On every plan.
Selling
Every plan. Shopify Payments adds no fee of its own beyond card fees: 2.9% + 30¢ (Basic), 2.7% + 30¢ (Grow) or 2.5% + 30¢ (Advanced) online. Another payment provider adds 2%, 1% or 0.6%.
Bookings
Through apps from the Shopify App Store.
Blog
Built in.
Email marketing
Shopify Email: 10,000 emails a month free, then $1 per 1,000.
Domain
Not included: a .com costs about $16 a year (Shopify's blog).
Tax
Not stated on the pages we read.

Catches

  • The $5 Starter plan is closed to new stores, so a real shop starts at Basic.
  • No free domain, and paid apps (bookings, reviews and the like) add monthly costs.
  • A payment provider other than Shopify Payments adds 0.6% to 2% per sale.
Sources, read on 1 October 2026
  1. Shopify pricing (the builder's own page)
  2. Shopify Help Center: Starter plan (the builder's own page)
  3. Shopify Help Center: Shopify Email pricing (the builder's own page)
  4. Shopify website builder (the builder's own page)
  5. Shopify blog: domain cost (22 May 2026)
  6. Website Builder Expert: Shopify pricing (11 May 2026)

GoDaddy (Airo)

Choose it if you want a low yearly price and a site made from a few prompts, and monthly AI credits suit you.

Plans, price a month
PlanBilled yearlyBilled monthly
Freecannot publish; 50 AI credits a month$0$0
Starter1 site; 150 AI credits a month$9.99$19.99
Professionalup to 10 sites; 300 AI credits a month$24.99$49.99
Ultimateup to 50 sites; 750 AI credits a month$99.99$199.99

GoDaddy's page builds its plan table in the browser, so these prices come from Website Builder Expert and Business.com (September 2026).

AI
Airo builds the site, its pages and simple apps from prompts. AI credits run out each billing cycle and do not carry over.
Selling
Any paid plan can take payments with GoDaddy Payments. We found no card fees published for the new plans.
Bookings
Appointments are listed as built in; we could not confirm which plans include them.
Blog
Built in.
Email marketing
On plans above Starter (Business.com).
Domain
Free for the first year with a paid plan; a .com then renews at $22.99 a year (Website Builder Expert).
Plans
New since late August 2026: they replaced Basic, Premium and Commerce.

Catches

  • The plans changed in late August 2026, so many reviews describe plans that are gone.
  • Paying monthly costs about twice the yearly rate ($19.99 against $9.99 for Starter).
  • AI credits do not roll over.
  • We could not find renewal prices for the new plans.
Sources, read on 1 October 2026
  1. GoDaddy Website Builder (the builder's own page)
  2. Website Builder Expert: GoDaddy costs (16 Sep 2026)
  3. Business.com: GoDaddy Airo review (23 Sep 2026)
  4. Zoutons: GoDaddy AI credit plans (29 Aug 2026)

Hostinger

Choose it if the lowest price matters most and you can pay four years upfront.

Plans, price a month
PlanBilled yearlyBilled monthly
Premium48 months upfront ($143.52), then $10.99 a month$2.99 (48 months)Not shown
Unlimited48 months upfront ($191.52), then $16.99 a month$3.99 (48 months)Not shown
Cloud Startup48 months upfront ($383.52), then $25.99 a month$7.99 (48 months)Not shown

Hostinger shows these prices only for 48 months paid upfront; one-month and one-year prices are not on the page.

AI
Builds a site from your brand name and a description. AI credits, once: 5 on Premium, 15 on Unlimited and Cloud Startup.
Selling
From Unlimited. Hostinger takes no fee on sales; the payment provider charges its own.
Bookings
Part of the shop features, from Unlimited.
Blog
Included; basic, with no comments (Tooltester).
Email marketing
Hostinger Reach on Unlimited and up.
Domain
Free for the first year on every plan.
Tax
Prices are listed without tax.

Catches

  • The $2.99 price needs 48 months paid upfront, then renews at $10.99 a month or more, about 3 to 4 times as much.
  • Premium cannot sell online.
  • Monthly and one-year prices are not shown.
Sources, read on 1 October 2026
  1. Hostinger Website Builder (the builder's own page)
  2. Tooltester: Hostinger Website Builder review (22 May 2026)

WordPress.com

Choose it if you want the cheapest plan with your own domain, or a blog comes first.

Plans, price a month
PlanBilled yearlyBilled monthly
Free$0$0
Personal$4$9
Premium$8$18
Business$25$40
Commerce$45$70

Two- and three-year terms cost less: Personal is $2.75 a month over three years.

AI
A guided builder makes and launches a site as you chat with it (usage limits apply). Personal and up.
Selling
Payment buttons from Premium, with a WordPress.com fee of 4% (Premium), 2% (Business) or 0% (Commerce), plus Stripe's 2.9% + 30¢. A full WooCommerce shop needs Business. The pricing page also lists payment buttons on Personal; the help page starts them at Premium.
Bookings
Through plugins, which every paid plan can add since April 2026.
Blog
The heart of every plan, Free included.
Email marketing
MailPoet for up to 500 subscribers on Business and Commerce.
Domain
Free for the first year on yearly plans.
Tax
Prices exclude tax.

Catches

  • Paying monthly costs about twice the yearly rate ($9 against $4 for Personal).
  • Payment buttons carry a WordPress.com fee below Commerce, on top of Stripe's.
  • Paid plugins add their own costs.
Sources, read on 1 October 2026
  1. WordPress.com pricing (the builder's own page)
  2. WordPress.com support: Payments block (the builder's own page)
  3. Blog Recode: plugins on all WordPress.com plans (4 Apr 2026)

Square Online

Choose it if you already take payments with Square in person.

Plans, price a month
PlanBilled yearlyBilled monthly
Square FreeSquare address only$0$0
Square Plusper locationNo yearly price$49
Square Premiumper locationNo yearly price$149

In the US the online store is part of Square's Free, Plus and Premium plans for the whole business, priced per location.

AI
No whole-site AI builder found; AI writes product descriptions and menus (Tech.co, February 2026).
Selling
Every plan, Free included. Online card fees: 3.3% + 30¢ on Free, 2.9% + 30¢ on Plus and Premium. Payments go through Square.
Bookings
Unlimited calendars on Plus and Premium.
Blog
Included.
Email marketing
Unlimited email campaigns on Plus and Premium.

Catches

  • Your own domain needs Square Plus at $49 a month per location; there is no cheaper website plan.
  • Monthly billing only; we found no yearly price.
  • Payments must go through Square.
Sources, read on 1 October 2026
  1. Square Online plans (the builder's own page)
  2. Tech.co: Square Online review (24 Feb 2026)

Durable

Choose it if you run a service business and want a quick site with bookings and invoices.

Plans, price a month
PlanBilled yearlyBilled monthly
Freeprivate preview only$0$0
Launch$22$25
Grow$41$49
AI
Builds a full site (text, images and design) in about 30 seconds from a few questions; AI agents write blog posts, answer reviews and look at competitors.
Selling
No online shop or checkout found. Customers can pay invoices by card, Apple Pay or bank transfer (Cybernews, June 2026); not on the free plan, and which paid plans include it is not confirmed.
Bookings
Unlimited bookings synced to your calendar, on Launch and Grow.
Blog
The AI Blog Writer: 2 posts on Free, 10 a month on Launch, 32 on Grow.
Email marketing
AI email campaigns are listed on the builder page; the plans that include them are not stated.
Domain
Paid plans include a custom domain worth up to $20 or $40, depending on the plan; the term is not stated.
Tax
Not stated.

Catches

  • The free plan is a private preview: it cannot be published.
  • No full online shop.
  • Many reviews from 2024 and 2025 describe older plans (Starter, Business, Mogul).
Sources, read on 1 October 2026
  1. Durable pricing (the builder's own page)
  2. Durable AI website builder (the builder's own page)
  3. Cybernews: Durable review (23 Jun 2026)

Webflow

Choose it if a designer will build your site and look after it.

Plans, price a month
PlanBilled yearlyBilled monthly
Starterwebflow.io address, 2 pages$0$0
Basic$15$25
Premium$25$39
Ecommerce Standard$29$42
Ecommerce Plus$74$84
Ecommerce Advanced$212$235

Premium replaced the CMS and Business plans in May 2026. Monthly prices of the ecommerce plans come from LitExtension (July 2026) and Veza Digital (October 2025).

AI
Turns a prompt into a site you then edit in detail; it uses AI credits. On every plan.
Selling
From Ecommerce Standard, which takes 2% of sales; Plus and Advanced take 0%. Stripe or PayPal charge their own fees.
Bookings and email
Not on the pricing page; done with other tools.
Blog
Needs the CMS, from Premium; Basic is for static pages.
Domain
None mentioned on Webflow's pricing page.
Tax
Prices are plus tax, added at checkout.

Catches

  • A blog needs Premium ($25 a month billed yearly).
  • Ecommerce Standard takes 2% of sales.
  • If you cancel, you still pay for the rest of the term.
Sources, read on 1 October 2026
  1. Webflow pricing (the builder's own page)
  2. Webflow blog: simplified plans and pricing (20 Jul 2026)
  3. Webflow Help Center: pricing for May 2026 (May 2026)
  4. LitExtension: Webflow pricing (Jul 2026)
  5. Veza Digital: Webflow pricing (3 Oct 2025)

Framer

Choose it if you want a polished marketing site and do not need to sell online.

Plans, price a month
PlanBilled yearlyBilled monthly
FreeFramer address and banner$0$0
Basic$10$15
Pro$30$45
EnterpriseCustomCustom

Monthly prices from Awesomic (September 2026).

AI
AI agents and translation run on monthly AI credits: 500 to try on Free, 1,000 on Basic, 3,000 on Pro.
Selling
No built-in shop or payments.
Blog
The CMS: 2 collections on Basic, 10 on Pro.
Domain
Free on yearly Basic and Pro plans.
Editors
Extra editors cost $20 a month each.
Tax
Sales tax is added at checkout.

Catches

  • No online shop or payments.
  • Refunds are generally not given (users in the EU and Turkey have 14 days).
  • Extra editors cost $20 a month each.
Sources, read on 1 October 2026
  1. Framer pricing (the builder's own page)
  2. Framer blog: AI credits and simpler plans (undated)
  3. Awesomic: Framer pricing (18 Sep 2026)
  4. Build in Framer: Framer pricing explained (27 Aug 2026)
Before you choose

See your own website first

AI Web Maker builds a website for your business from a short description, in minutes, and you preview it before you pay anything. Compare it with the others on your own business rather than a demo.

Free to build and preview · $119 a year hosting when you go live · domain not included

Method

How we compared

We read each builder's own pricing page on 1 October 2026. Where a page would not load, or would not show prices for the US, we used a review dated 2026 (or, where we say so, 2025) and name it next to the figure. When we could not find a figure, the page says "Not found" rather than guessing.

Prices are per month. "Billed yearly" means paying for a year upfront; "billed monthly" means paying month by month. Year one is twelve months of the cheapest plan with your own domain, paid yearly. Hostinger only shows prices for 48 months paid upfront, so its figures are for that term.

Tax: we say what each builder's page says about sales tax, and where it says nothing, we say that too.

We make AI Web Maker. It is on this list, marked as ours, and described with the same facts as the others: its price, what is included and its catches.

Prices change often, and the date at the top says when we last checked them. If you see a figure that has changed, tell us and we will correct it.

Questions

Website builders for small businesses in the US: questions and answers

What is the cheapest website builder for a small business in the US?

On 1 October 2026, the cheapest plan with your own domain was WordPress.com Personal at $4 a month billed yearly ($48 for the year, with the domain free for that year). Hostinger shows $2.99 a month, but only with 48 months paid upfront ($143.52), and it renews at $10.99 a month. GoDaddy Starter ($9.99) and Framer Basic ($10) come next. AI Web Maker is $119 a year with every tool included; the domain is extra.

Which website builder is best for a small business?

It depends on the job your website does. To sell products, Shopify is built for it. For bookings, Wix (from Core), Durable, Square Online (Plus), Hostinger, GoDaddy and AI Web Maker include them, while Squarespace charges extra. For the lowest price, WordPress.com Personal. If a designer will run the site, Webflow or Framer. If you take payments in person with Square, Square Online.

Is it cheaper to pay monthly or yearly?

Yearly, on every builder here that offers both. Paying month by month costs about 10% to 40% more on Wix, Squarespace and Shopify, about two thirds more on Webflow's Basic plan, and about twice as much on GoDaddy and on WordPress.com's cheaper plans.

Is the domain free?

For the first year on yearly plans at Wix, Squarespace, WordPress.com and Framer, with any paid GoDaddy plan, and on Hostinger's 48-month plans; Durable includes one on its paid plans. After that you pay the renewal: about $17.35 a year at Wix and $22.99 for a GoDaddy .com, according to 2026 reviews. Shopify and AI Web Maker do not include a domain, and Webflow's pricing page mentions none.

Which website builders include online booking?

Wix (from Core), Durable (Launch and Grow), Square Online (Plus and Premium), Hostinger (with its shop plans), GoDaddy (plan not stated) and AI Web Maker include bookings. Squarespace sells scheduling as a separate subscription from $16 a month billed yearly. Shopify, WordPress.com, Webflow and Framer need apps, plugins or other tools.

Do these website builders use AI?

Most can build a whole site with AI: Wix, Squarespace, Shopify, GoDaddy, Hostinger, WordPress.com, Webflow, Durable and AI Web Maker. Framer's AI agents work on a site you are building, and we found no whole-site AI builder for Square Online. Several count AI use in credits: GoDaddy, Squarespace, Hostinger, Webflow, Framer and AI Web Maker (for work like writing articles).

How much does AI Web Maker cost?

Building and previewing your website costs nothing. When you are happy with it, you go live for $119 a year of hosting with every tool included: the shop, bookings, the AI Blog Writer, the AI chatbot, contacts and leads, marketing outreach and the social media marketer. Your domain is separate, and some AI work, like writing articles, uses credits you add when you need them. There is no fee on your sales: you connect your own payment gateway.